Citizen | Business | Government | Visitor

Wyoming Logo WPSC Logo Wyoming Flag



Commissioner Minier

Chairman Alan B. Minier

Governor Freudenthal appointed Alan B. Minier to the Public Service Commission on November 17, 2008. Before then, Al was Chairman of the State Board of Equalization, where he had served since March 1, 2003.

Al practiced law in Cheyenne from 1980 to 2002, emphasizing civil litigation and administrative law. He was admitted to all state courts in Wyoming, the Federal Court in Wyoming, and the Eighth and Tenth Circuit Courts of Appeals. When Al first moved to Wyoming in 1978, he joined the staff of Governor Ed Herschler.

Al graduated from Yale in 1970 and Harvard Law School in 1973.

Term Expires March 1, 2015


Commissioner Bill Russell

Deputy Chairman Bill Russell

Governor Mead appointed Bill Russell to the Public Service Commission on November 1, 2012. Bill served as an Air Force Officer specializing in space and missile operations from 1975 to 1998. He served as an Assistant Attorney General for the State of Wyoming since 2001 where his primary duty was to defend the state against mineral, excise, and property tax appeals.

Bill earned a Bachelor's Degree from Allentown College, Pennsylvania, a Master's Degree from the University of Northern Colorado, and a Law Degree from the University of Wyoming.

Term Expires March 1, 2017


Commissioner Kara Brighton

Governor Mead appointed Kara Brighton to the Public Service Commission on March 1, 2013. Kara received her Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Wyoming in Small Business Management (1993) and her Juris Doctorate from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Law (1996). Kara started her legal career at the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office, Water Division working on the Nebraska v. Wyoming litigation over the North Platte River. In August, 2000, she was a founding partner of Hageman & Brighton, P.C. where she focused her practice exclusively on water issues, including representation of several irrigation districts, agricultural interests and municipalities.

Term expires March 1, 2019.